Hello. My name is Parvis.

I think I'm interesting enough. Follow my story.

Olympus TG-2: Sample shots

I finally decided to buy my very first digital camera! And since I am not particularly the most careful person and I wanted to have a camera that can be used in the beach without any worry, I chose a rugged, water-proof, shock-proof Olympus TG-2. This piece of equipment does wonders. It even has built-in 11 filters along with many scene modes. I’m very happy with it so far. With this purchase, I won’t be using my HTC One X+ for my travel photography anymore.

So before I set out for my Hanoi trip later this month, I figured I need to take this for a test run and get to know my new baby. And without further ado, here are some sample shots:

Self-shot with my Olympus TG-2

Self-shot with my Olympus TG-2

Olympus TG-2

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the sparkle filter

Olympus TG-2

Olympus TG-2

Applied sepia filter thru iPhoto

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the “pet cat” mode

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the miniature filter

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the soft focus filter

Olympus TG-2

Olympus TG-2

Yours truly playing tennis; Shot using the sport mode

Olympus TG-2

Olympus TG-2

Olympus TG-2

Olympus TG-2

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the super-macro mode

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the pin hole filter

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the pop art filter

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the SCN mode, Snapshot submode

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the SCN mode, Wide1 submode

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the super-macro mode

Olympus TG-2

Applied B&W filter thru iPhoto

Olympus TG-2

Applied sepia filter thru iPhoto

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the dramatic filter

Olympus TG-2

Olympus TG-2

Shot using the super-macro mode + dramatic filter

Olympus TG-2

4 comments on “Olympus TG-2: Sample shots

  1. Rare
    May 2, 2013

    How about the overall performance of Olympus TG-2 after you’ve tried it for a while now? Are you satisfied with it?
    At the moment I’m browsing around to buy an underwater camera, and TG-2 is one among other cameras on my to-buy list.

    I’m wondering if it’s really as good as what the reviewers say. Would be great if I could hear the pros and cons from you. It would be very helpful. Thanks! 🙂

    • Parvis Brahim
      May 2, 2013

      Well, I’m satisfied with it for sure but I am not really a photographer. And I’ve never had a digital camera before so I don’t have anything to compare it to except my 3 camera phones which of course will never be as good. Are you buying mainly for underwater shots? I have taken some underwater shots but only in a swimming pool.

      More underwater shots here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/parvisbrahim/sets/72157633111629451/

      Pros:
      *shutter speed is fast enough
      *picture quality is sharp
      *takes good pictures in low light (will have some samples in my Hanoi post later)
      *super-macro mode is superb
      *filters are fun
      *lots of scene settings (pet mode auto captures when it detects the animal!)
      *in a single charging, battery can last up to 350-400 shots

      Cons:
      *there’s no viewfinder so taking shots underwater is challenging as you rely to look at the LCD which when submerged, can be difficult to make out
      *the “turn-key” switch becomes too slippery when underwater so changing between scenes is hard too
      *since there are [too] many scenes and filters, switching from one to another can be very hassling

      • Rare
        May 7, 2013

        Hi! Thank you so much for your reply.

        I’m looking for a point and shoot camera, easy to operate, that can take photos underwater yet also can produce good, at least decent photos for outdoor/indoor/regular use.

        I’ve seen your photos using this TG-2. The outcomes are really great. They have a very crisp colors and awesome details for a pocket camera. Just like the way I want it. Are you using the manual setting for taking those shots? Or have you done any alterations with a photo editor other than filters from the camera?

        Thanks a lot for sharing. It’s been really helpful 🙂

        • Parvis Brahim
          May 7, 2013

          The only alterations I’ve done are applying sepia and B&W filters thru iPhoto which are both not available in the camera. I would’ve wanted those to be included plus color selection filter. But we can’t have everything right? 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2013 by in Photography and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 583 other followers

Archives

Categories

