Hello. My name is Parvis.

I think I'm interesting enough. Follow my story.

Boracay, Philippines

For my 29th birthday, I decided that I will spend it in Boracay since I have always wanted to go there but I’d continually find reasons to postpone it. But I was determined this time. In early December last year, I booked the flights. Admittedly, this is my first domestic travel since 2001 when my family left from Cotabato City to Manila. I figured this was the perfect time to explore my country again and what best way to do it but by visiting the world-famous island of Boracay.

I was traveling all on my own yet again. I spent 4 days and 3 nights on the island (January 3-6). The experience didn’t really start on a good note as I arrived on a very gloomy Boracay. And during my first day, the rain poured the whole day, whole night. So I was pretty much stuck in the hotel. What a great way to begin my vacation, right? I just kept praying that the weather cooperates the next day. And sure enough, though slow, the weather got better. And I was more than glad to make the most out of it.

I was able to do some snorkeling, visited a couple of caves, got to do island hopping and reef walking. For the rest of the time, I just lazed around by the beach without a care in the world (as how vacations are supposed to be).

Despite the terrible start and poor weather, Boracay offers breathtaking sceneries. The waters are great, the sands are as fine as they can get and the people provide the right energy that makes the island so alive.

As in most vacations, my birthday vacation was short-lived. But it’s always bittersweet that way. The things you can’t get enough of are usually the ones you don’t get much of. In the end, we savor those rare events of our lives the most. If some thing happens all the time, it becomes mundane. So, I guess it’s best this way.

Oh Boracay, I miss you already.

Some boat at Puka Beach, Boracay

Some boat at Puka Beach, Boracay

The iconic blue sailboat in Boracay

The iconic blue sailboat in Boracay

The waters of Boracay, Philippines

The waters of Boracay, Philippines

Northern-most part of Boracay called Puka Beach

Northern-most part of Boracay called Puka Beach

Bad weather won't keep people from flocking the shore of Boracay

Bad weather won’t keep people from flocking the shore of Boracay

Approaching Diniwid Beach, Boracay

Approaching Diniwid Beach, Boracay

Island hopping on a sunny Boracay

Island hopping on a sunny Boracay

The crowds that bring life to Boracay

The crowds that bring life to Boracay

Prenuptial pictorial at Puka Beach, Boracay

Prenuptial pictorial at Puka Beach, Boracay

The busy shore of Boracay

The busy shore of Boracay

2 beach chairs, 1 umbrella, 1 Boracay

2 beach chairs, 1 umbrella, 1 Boracay

Beachfront lunch at Bamboo Lounge in Boracay

Beachfront lunch at Bamboo Lounge in Boracay

A gloomy weather won't even rid Boracay of its picturesque charm

A gloomy weather won’t even rid Boracay of its picturesque charm

Puka Shell Beach, Boracay

Puka Shell Beach, Boracay

Diniwid Beach, Boracay

Diniwid Beach, Boracay

A lonesome swimmer at Puka Beach, Boracay

A lonesome swimmer at Puka Beach, Boracay

Partly cloudy, partly sunny day at the white beach Boracay

Partly cloudy, partly sunny day at the white beach Boracay

Boats sailing at sunset in Boracay

Boats sailing at sunset in Boracay

Long stretches of white sand and rows of coconut trees in Boracay

Long stretches of white sand and rows of coconut trees in Boracay

Coconut trees really do provide character to Boracay

Coconut trees really do provide character to Boracay

The famous white sands of Boracay, Philippines

The famous white sands of Boracay, Philippines

Footprints in the sands of white beach Boracay

Footprints in the sands of white beach Boracay

Arriving ashore in Station 1, Boracay

Arriving ashore in Station 1, Boracay

The compulsory sunset shot at Boracay

The compulsory sunset shot at Boracay

15 comments on “Boracay, Philippines

  1. Miguel
    January 8, 2013

    Kahit nilulumot, dinadayo. πŸ˜€

    • Parvis Brahim
      January 8, 2013

      True. But I think people have long since forgiven this and just recognize the fact that despite being a heavy-tourist destination, it maintains its waters and shores relatively clean and remain “sleaze”-free (unlike say Phuket). But it’s not to say Boracay is exempt of “issues” of course.

  2. Ardun Ward
    January 8, 2013

    This place looks amazing my friend! What a way to start the year. Happy birthday too mate. Snorkeling and caves sounds right up my alley. Keep the posts coming man.

    • Parvis Brahim
      January 8, 2013

      Thanks for the belated greeting! Boracay is indeed a lovely place. If you get the chance, please visit my country too. We have over 7,000 stunning islands to offer! And yes, do watch out for my Siem Reap trip next month as I will eagerly await your upcoming travels as well πŸ™‚

  3. nadia
    January 10, 2013

    The beauty of Boracay shines through your pictures! There is no ocean water as sparkling and blue as the one in the Philippines.

    • Parvis Brahim
      January 10, 2013

      I tried my best, Nadia πŸ™‚ You can only imagine how (extra) beautiful Boracay would be on a really bright, sunny day! You’ve been to the Philippines, I assume? Where did you go?

  4. Pingback: Boracay: The Best Island in the World | MyHotelsWorld

  5. Apple
    January 18, 2013

    Nice blog my friend. Pictures are cool..look like shots of pro

    • Parvis Brahim
      January 18, 2013

      Thanks, Aps! There’s still so much more I can improve on with my photography πŸ™‚

  6. Jeff | Planet Bell
    April 26, 2013

    Cool photos. I am planning on going to the Philippines in October and November of this year but can’t decide if I should visit Boracay or not. Advice?

    • Parvis Brahim
      April 26, 2013

      Hi Jeff. We have seen drastic changes in our seasons here in the Philippines the past few years (clear signs of global warming, anyone?). We get typhoons when it’s supposed to be dry and it gets extremely hot when it’s supposed to be a rainy season. Weather-wise, there’s no telling anymore when’s the “best” time to visit. My advice is to NOT miss going to Boracay when you’re in the country already especially if you have time to spare anyway. It’s beautiful in Boracay even with a bad weather. I look forward to reading about your trip here πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Officially in my 30s | Hello. I'm Parvis.

  8. sterei
    February 4, 2014

    Boracay is on my list. I hope to fit a trip in before June sometime. But I’m torn between there and Palawan. I’d love to do both, but time and money means it will probably have to just be the one.

    • Parvis Brahim
      February 4, 2014

      Boracay is heaving with tourists and locals alike and it is a party island as in it will be loud at night. So not sure if you’re into that kind of vibe. The beaches are pretty amazing though and sands are as fine as the ones in Maldives. But then there’s the “algae” thing happening every now and then which makes the waters less appealing to swim in. So timing is key to truly enjoy the island.

      I’ve never been to Palawan. But from what my sister has told me, it’s more laid back, [very] quiet and definitely lesser tourists.

      • sterei
        February 4, 2014

        Really helpful. Thanks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 583 other followers

Archives

Categories

