Hello. My name is Parvis.

I think I'm interesting enough. Follow my story.

The good year

To sum it up succinctly, this year has been a good year. It is a year of finding the right work life balance I have been looking for.

In retrospect, 2011 was not-so-good  year for me. I suffered greatly and mainly because of my highly demanding but never rewarding job. I was working as a real estate agent and although it’s lucrative, the job demanded most of my time and barely allowed me to have any time for myself or for any thing else. I was practically working 7 days a week, at least 16 hours a day. It was during that year I became physically drained and ultimately led me to my being a sickly person.

In early January I resigned and I started looking for another job and luckily after a little over a month, I landed an awesome job in a great working environment, not to mention having the best boss ever. This job allows me to have the balance I was seeking. No more overtime work. Just regular hours and days of work. I now get to do whatever else I wish during my free time, meaning my weeknights, weekends and public holidays.

So here I am today with a more balanced life. I work but don’t really need to work that hard. It pays good enough and it’s an easy-paced job and I love that! I am now more than ever able to do what I love to do. And traveling is one of them.

This year, I got to travel to Bangkok, Bali, Krabi, and most importantly I got to visit my hometown Manila to be with my family a few times. For sure I’ll be doing more traveling next year. In fact, I will be in Boracay for my birthday and I’m visiting Cambodia come February and Hanoi in April.

I just feel so blessed. I am at a very happy place right now. I realized it’s never worth punishing yourself just for the sake of keeping a job. If it makes you unhappy and miserable, drop it. Walk away from it. And move on. Trust that there are better options, always. If I were to advise anyone about life, I guess that would be it.

A new year beckons in a few days. So here’s to good life and hopefully a better year ahead! And perhaps I’ll get lucky enough I’ll finally find the love of my life!

Enjoy the holidays and happy new year everyone!

the good year

4 comments on “The good year

  1. Ardun Ward
    December 23, 2012

    Great stuff Parvis and a great post. Cambodia is on my list too but not next year. It ha been a good year for both of us and I’m happy to have you a a new friend. Enjoy the new year mate 🙂

    • Parvis Brahim
      December 23, 2012

      Likewise buddy! And perhaps we might cross paths some day, who knows! 🙂 Here’s to better year ahead!

  2. Apple
    February 15, 2013

    Thanks for adding our pictures my friend! Glad to see i’m there haha

    • Parvis Brahim
      February 15, 2013

      Of course! You are a part of my so-called “good life”. How can I ever miss including you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 23, 2012 by in My Journal and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 583 other followers

Archives

Categories

