Hello. My name is Parvis.

I think I'm interesting enough. Follow my story.

Krabi, Thailand

So after that long, stressful decision making regarding our next travel, we have finally decided to go to Krabi. And boy, was this the right decision.

From Singapore, getting to Krabi is no more than an hour and a half flight away. And  I love the fact that it is just a short flight because I hate flying, not because I am scared of it but I hate spending hours and hours on a plane doing nothing. And I can never sleep in a moving vehicle/aircraft anyway. I love to travel but I hate flying.

When we landed in Krabi, I was very impressed with its airport. It looks new and it’s clean and organized. I love the feeling I got the moment we got out of the airport. Maybe the cloudy weather helped a lot about my impression. The traffic situation is surprising since there were hardly any traffic at all.

IMAG1823

Krabi, Thailand International Airport

We stayed in the central area of Krabi, Ao Nang. It’s not noisy nor loud nor chaotic. It’s very quiet, almost calm even. It’s understated in so many ways and I love that about Krabi. After we arrived at the hotel, we had lunch at a nearby restaurant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First order of business: lunch.

Then we went straight to Ao Nang beach and from there took a longtail boat to Railay West beach. Got there around 2pm and spent the rest of the day swimming and just lazying around without an ounce of care about our realities we need to face after this. It was truly a lovely day. We didn’t get much sunshine but at least it didn’t rain. It was a fantastic weather.

Ao Nang beach

Ao Nang beach

The iconic longtail boat of Thailand

The iconic longtail boat of Thailand

Railay West beach

Railay West beach

A lady selling Thai massage services to a tourist

A lady selling Thai massage services to a tourist

With my twin sister

With my twin sister

The next day, we opted to take a multiple-island hopping tour. It started early at 8 am. And we were to take a speedboat to go from one island to another. It was gonna be a whole day of activity. The weather, again, was mostly cloudy. Hardly any sunshine to be frank. But it was a cool, steady weather.

We got to Bamboo island first. And stayed there for almost an hour for some swimming and a bit of snorkeling.

Our "Janpen" speedboat

Our “Janpen” speedboat

Snorkeling at Bamboo Island, Ko Phi Phi

Snorkeling at Bamboo Island, Ko Phi Phi

After this, we went to Viking Cave, where I believe there are 10 people living in it.

Viking Cave

Viking Cave

Briefly after that, we went sightseeing in this magnificent, almost hidden place called Pi Leh Bay. This was just breathtaking. Clear blue waters and completely surrounded by limestones. I am not exactly sure if my pictures give justice to what I witnessed, but these are the best that my camera phone can capture. And it is very difficult to get a good perspective shot when you’re actually in the middle of this beautiful bay.

Entering Pi Leh Bay

Entering Pi Leh Bay

Pi Leh Bay

Pi Leh Bay

Pi Leh Bay

With my twin sister and 2 friends at Pi Leh Bay

With my twin sister and 2 friends at Pi Leh Bay

Pi Leh Bay was really gorgeous. But we only got to spend there around 20 minutes and maybe less then we were off to another paradise. In less than 10 minutes, we reached the famous Maya Bay, where the movie “The Beach” by Leonardo DiCaprio was filmed. It was just, wow. I can just stay there for ever. A truly stunning island.

Approaching Maya Bay

Approaching Maya Bay

Maya Bay, Ko Phi Phi

Don’t you just wish you can stay here for ever?

Maya Bay, Ko Phi Phi

With my twin sister at the stunning little paradise called Maya Bay

Maya Bay, Ko Phi Phi

Swimming at Maya Bay

Swimming at Maya Bay

We spent about an hour at Maya Bay before we headed out for a late lunch at a nearby island. And after that, we went to Monkey Island where we did a proper snorkeling this time.

Monkey Island

Monkey Island

Monkey Island

Snorkeling at Monkey Island

Snorkeling at Monkey Island

So that was our Ko Phi Phi island-hopping tour. It was an amazing experience. I could not ask for a better “summer” vacation! I quoted summer because, well, it didn’t shine much. But nevertheless, I enjoyed every moment of it.

That night, I went shopping alone since my groupie decided to stay in the hotel because they were tired. I bought stuff for myself and for my 2 siblings who sadly weren’t able to join us. Love the fact that the sellers are not too aggressive in selling. They’re more friendly compared to the ones in Bangkok and Bali.

Night life is very quiet in Krabi which I appreciated. It’s safe here or it felt safe for me. I didn’t get the feeling that I was gonna get conned one way or another. And its not too crowded.

I find the island very charming. Hopefully, it won’t get too spoiled and exploited but I have doubts. But hey, at least I was still able to enjoy this island very much!

Going back to Singapore from here would totally be a bummer. But we all can’t go on a vacation forever as we all have “real lives” to face. And in that sense, it all the more makes short vacations like this truly meaningful.

3 comments on “Krabi, Thailand

  1. Billiga Flyg Resor
    June 8, 2012

    excellent post! I enjoyed Krabi a lot as well! 😉

  2. Thailand Phuket
    June 9, 2012

    lovely pictures and a quite good read too!

  3. amazing pictures!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2012 by in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 583 other followers

Archives

Categories

