A really pleasant surprise

Following my recent resignation from my terrible job, I have decided to give myself some vacation before I start looking for another job. My trip to Bali is perhaps one of the most exciting experiences I have ever had in a very long time. It is just exactly what I needed to clear my head of any negative vibes coming off from the misery that was my previous work.

So after a week of me time in the beautiful island of Bali, naturally, I started job hunting again. And this time I was pretty determined to get a “regular” job. You know, the kind that allows you to have weekends and have a more sense of work life balance. By hook or by crook, I will get a regular job.

I wasn’t particularly shying away from sales job, as long as it doesn’t demand me to work long hours and on weekends and holidays. I mean, I’m not saying I’m great at selling but I can do that job well enough. Getting a sales job again would have been the easier route. But at the back of my mind, I really wish I don’t end up doing sales again.

Usually, I apply for a sales or marketing job and from time to time, I dare to apply for a writing job even though knowing that I don’t exactly have a professional writing background. But what have I got to lose?

It’s been a month and a half now and ever since I began my job search, I’m consistently getting invited for at least 2 job interviews every week. And in that span of time, I have had 2 sales job offers, both of which I turned down. It was either the salary was just too low (Trying to shortchange me now, ya? No, thanks) or I would need to work on weekends.

I don’t have the feeling of being desperate to secure a job as soon as possible. I have decided that I would take my time to really get that right job that satisfies my needs and that is to have a work life balance and of course, a better pay. Hey, I think I have as much right as the next person to demand a good pay, don’t I?

My interviews mostly are for a sales position but I also do get some interview invitations for a marketing job here and there. So far, out of the 11 interviews I’ve been to, I haven’t been invited for a second interview yet. It could seem discouraging but I have made up my mind to be really patient this time.

On March 16, Friday, I received an email from a Vice-President of a company asking me if I was available for an interview at 10am the following Monday. Oddly enough, reading that email made me very, very nervous. It was really strange. You see, I am never nervous for an interview. I have built up that confidence long time ago.

But this peculiar feeling of nervousness, of great anxiety to go through this one upcoming interview was all too unfamiliar to me. I spent the entire weekend being very nervous all day.

I. Just. Couldn’t. Shake. It. Off.

Damn it.

My sister was telling me and quite assuring me that that’s a sign that I will get this job. I half believed it and half kept an open mind.

During the interview day itself, I was a mess and the cold temperature in the building didn’t help either. So a few minutes after I arrived, I finally met the guy. The interview lasted at about an hour and a half and all throughout, I was trembling with uncontrollable nerves. I was stuttering all over the place and I just thought to myself, Good job, Parvis. You are surely acing this interview.

After the interview, he told me he will just ping me if I was shortlisted and I was just making deep sighs and shaking my head on my way home. Nice one, buddy. You just blew it big time. Just when it mattered most. Just great.

When I came home, all I wanted to do was sleep and forget about the disaster that I was earlier. I didn’t even bother taking lunch. I was extremely disappointed with myself and I just wanted to sleep it off.

After a good 5 hours of sleep, I woke up and instinctively checked my phone first. I have one email notification. And seeing that icon, it made my heart race. But I didn’t want to get too excited and expect too much, so I quickly dismissed the thought.

And then I received this email…

email - good news

Jaw dropped. Heart’s racing 200 km/hr. I was speechless. And I kept reading the email over and over again just to be sure I read it correctly. And it’s true. I really got the job! I could not be any happier about this news!

Could this be the answer to what I was clamoring for a very looong time? I don’t know but I sure do want to believe it is. For now, I am just thrilled and up in heavens happy. It was really unexpected! I thought I screwed up the whole thing during the interview and yet I still got the job? Was that even possible? This can’t be real, can it? But it is real! And it feels so good!

I have to say, this has got to be one of the, if not the most pleasant surprise I have ever gotten in my life. Alhamdulillah!

For now, however, I’m just waiting for all legal formalities to be settled. But until then, I don’t think I will be able to get rid of this big grin on my face for a while 🙂

One thought on “A really pleasant surprise

Leave a Reply

