A row of Buddhas in Wat Pho

Bangkok, Thailand

I just recently resigned from my terrible job after doing it for exactly a year. I decided that I have had enough and wanted to move on. So, the first thing that I wanted to do was to travel. And I immediately thought of one place I have always wanted to visit.

I booked a flight to Bangkok without any real plans in mind. It was just a spur of a moment thing. And for the first time ever, I was gonna be a solitary traveler.

I landed in Bangkok on January 30, 2012 afternoon. I immediately went straight to my hostel and settled. The place was decent, very well maintained, clean and very convenient. It had a restaurant at the lobby that’s open from 6am til 12midnight and it was close to the train station and the police station.

At night, I went to Siam Paragon mall to have a dinner. To my pleasant surprise, I met Ms. Britney Spears. Well, her wax figure that is. Of course, I didn’t miss the opportunity to have our picture taken. I didn’t do much though for the remainder of the night. I officially did the touristy stuff the next day.

With Britney Spears at Siam Paragon
With Britney Spears at Siam Paragon

What a perfect day in Bangkok it was the following day. Got to visit The Grand Palace; Saw the reclining Buddha at Wat Pho; Rode a boat along Chao Phraya River; And climbed the top of Wat Arun. Also the fact that it was cloudy the whole day. Best possible condition to walk from point to point and marvel at these wonders.

The Grand Palace, Bangkok, Thailand
The Grand Palace

A row of Buddhas in Wat Pho
A row of Buddhas in Wat Pho
The Reclining Buddha
The Reclining Buddha

Wat Arun, Bangkok
Wat Arun on the horizon
Eateries by the Chao Praya River
Eateries by the Chao Praya River
The view on top of Wat Arun
The view on top of Wat Arun

The streets of Bangkok were chaotic just like my home city Manila. But it didn’t bother me at all. To me, it’s all part of the experience. However, getting a cab was a nightmare especially when drivers tend to “negotiate” with you before they would allow you to get in. And by “negotiate” I mean rip you off big time! But you gotta be patient. Because some where out there, a decent driver comes along who does the right thing and let the meter run accordingly.

The iconic 'tuk-tuk' of Thailand
The iconic ‘tuk-tuk’ of Thailand

After my city tour, I decided to travel out of Bangkok the next day. Started my tour at 6:30am. I got to see a WWII site; Fed a young leopard; Had lunch at a floating restaurant; Went elephant trekking; Did river rafting; Dropped by a waterfalls; Chanced upon some monkeys, a few deer and a couple of black bears; And visited a temple full of tigers. I also made friends with a teenage German guy, a teenage Aussie girl and 2 post-college fellows from Fiji and Australia along the way.

Feeding a young leopard
Feeding a young leopard
Floating restaurant in Thailand
Floating restaurant in Thailand
Elephant trekking in Thailand
Elephant trekking in Thailand
Tiger Temple, Thailand
Tiger Temple in Thailand
Tiger Temple, Thailand

I got home around 7pm that day. But my day was not done yet. After dinner, I checked out Chinatown, Khao San and Patpong night markets to do some little shopping. Thailand would have to be one of the cheapest countries in the world! It is so much fun buying a lot of stuff at very affordable prices! Food, clothing, everything just seems to be very cheap. And even at cheap prices, you can still bargain! And of course, as a salesperson myself, I know how to bargain hard! Needless to say, I did a lot of shopping.

Street shops in Thailand
Street shops at night
Bangkok - City of Life
Bangkok – City of Life

The following day would be my departure from the amazing Thailand! I really enjoyed this country despite the terrible traffic, bad taxi drivers and language barrier. My only regret is that I haven’t had the chance to visit any of the country’s beaches! The country boasts so many beautiful beaches that usually rank high in the list of the best beaches in the world. That is why, I am making sure I will get to visit one or two beach islands there this year. I have my sights on Phuket and Ko Phi Phi.

As in all good things, it must come to an end. For this trip, it lasted 3 days. But I really ended up having one of the most exciting trips of my life! Exactly what I needed to calm myself down and start fresh and rejuvenated for the next chapter of my life.

One thought on “Bangkok, Thailand

Leave a Reply

