Hello. My name is Parvis.

I think I'm interesting enough. Follow my story.

My life abroad so far

10-10-10. Arrival at Singapore

It’s officially been a year since I made that bold, life-changing decision of living and working abroad. I must say it’s been quite an eye-opening experience. And frankly, it is nothing that I could have better prepared myself for.

All of a sudden, I have to manage every aspect of my lifestyle all on my own. From the very moment I arrived at my apartment here in Singapore, I was already freaking out figuring out this question: What now?

Living abroad independently is really all about management and prioritization, I realized.

Running errands. Now this one took me a while how to manage well. I have never in my life run any errands before. Seriously. So it proved to be very tricky at the start. All of the basic things I need to carry out on a day to day basis to accommodate my needs took some effort to get them in place from cleaning up your room regularly to washing your clothes to scheduling when you’re going to pay your bills, do your groceries, etc, etc, etc.

But those aren’t the toughest challenge. It is doable. You just need some time to get used to it and come up with a system that works for you. And once you do, it’s all smooth operation from there.

It’s homesickness that really kicks me the hardest in the nuts. I have never been away from my family ever, let alone be countries apart. But for me it was the only way I can learn to really grow up and be totally independent from all the luxuries I have back home.

There’s not one moment that I don’t miss my family. I don’t think one can ever get used to it especially if you have very close ties with your family. But I must carry on so that this journey, this decision I made, would not go in vain. I have a purpose. And it is to learn to stand on my own and experience life as it should be by living it the way that I want through the choices I make exempt from other people’s opinions.

They say that life starts when you get out of your comfort zone. And it’s true. But it is not without struggles of course. Nevertheless, it’s been a worth-while wonderful ride since I made that decision.

This journey is (still) pushing through. Inshallah.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2011 by in My Journal and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 583 other followers

Archives

Categories

