Hello. My name is Parvis.

I think I'm interesting enough. Follow my story.

Mother Earth needs your vote (again)

Earth Hour 2011. March 26, Saturday, 8:30 pm.

I was born and raised in the province (a countryside/rural) and I love everything about it. You get to marvel at nature every waking day. The air you breathe is absolutely clean, and cold most of the time. You get to drive by, or oftentimes walk by endless green fields and beautiful mountain silhouettes. Lakes and rivers are only a stone throw away. You get to eat freshly picked fruits and vegetables everyday.

Now those are only a few of the things I miss about my province. You see, our family moved to Manila (capital of the Philippines) for good when I was 17. It’s been 10 years since I haven’t gone back to my hometown and I don’t think we will be visiting there anytime soon.

If I were to name a few things I hate about the city life, one of them would be the smog that we inhale every single day. Due to that, I have developed weak lungs which I resent strongly. Dirty surroundings also pain my eyes. The noise and air pollution and the terrible daily traffic also upset me and don’t help in making me see any good side of my city, or any city for that matter.

It seems like everything in the city is a contributory agent to the continuing destruction of our planet. But I don’t have a choice but to live with it and I have grown immune to it and just like most city people (I think this is a reasonable generalization), I have most of the time become indifferent.

However, I think if we just stop and take a short moment, we all know that there is really something we can do to alleviate the problem. In our own little ways, we can actually make a difference by simply not littering, or disposing of our garbage responsibly or we may also opt to recycle, reuse, refuse and reduce. Or if you are still completely clueless (gasp!), Google is always there to help you get some idea. Believe me, that is not a crime and there should be no shame in resorting to the internet.

Or, have you heard of Earth Hour? If you still haven’t, it is a global event which started in 2007 in Sydney and initiated by WWF (World Wildlife Fund). The purpose of this movement is to raise awareness among us to take that simple step in fighting climate change. Basically, you just need to turn off your lights for a full hour. And this is just a once a year thing, though I would have liked it if we actually did this everyday.

But of course since people have been deeply accustomed to the use of electricity almost every beating second, it should take some time to condition our minds and get used to this simple “change” in our daily habits. This really isn’t asking much. I know most of us get so wrapped up by our busy lives and sometimes we just tend to forget that we also have responsibility to our planet.

I joined Earth Hour for the first time in 2009 and it has certainly become an annual tradition. I am so glad to have made and continuously be making a difference by joining this worldwide event and to little effort at that. It’s refreshing to know that you can actually help better the environment by doing small deeds like this.

I initiated my own campaign before the actual event by handing out flyers/leaflets to business offices, malls, to my neighbors and to strangers on the streets. I also spread the word through the use of social networking sites and other sharing tools plus through my blog as well. I also did a text (SMS) brigade to remind the people I know on the day itself.

I’m sure that we can all find it in ourselves to have a little care for the environment and do something to make our planet a better place. Let us do this for Mother Earth, for ourselves and for our children and our children’s children.

Another Earth Hour is happening this coming March 26.

So, what’s your vote?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2011 by in Social Issues and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 583 other followers

Archives

Categories

