Hello. My name is Parvis.

I think I'm interesting enough. Follow my story.

Toy Story 3: A painful reminder that ironically, the only immutable thing is change.

SPOILER ALERT: If you haven’t seen this movie yet, do not conti…wait you haven’t seen it yet? What the hell are you missing this movie for? Get your bloody ass up and go to the nearest theatre and see this movie AS IN RIGHT NOW.I for one wasn’t gonna miss this movie for the world. After reading all the rave reviews from critics and hearing great things about this film from my friends and family, there was no way in hell I will let this movie pass. I mean just by the name Pixar itself is enough reason for every one to see this film.

Although Toy Story 1 and 2 aren’t my most favorite Pixar films, I had high expectations about the 3rd installment. And boy was I not disappointed. Its other 2 predecessors don’t even come close to how absolutely wonderful Toy Story 3 is.As in recent Pixar films, Toy Story 3 is injected with adult humor along with jokes for the kids of course and heart-warming topics for the adults which appealed to me very well. And if you ask me, this is the smartest move the studio can make. If you can pull in both the young and old and satisfy both of their expectations, then the studio must be doing something right.

Animated films are not necessarily my cup of tea but there are some amazing ones I have seen in the past that really captured my heart and imagination. The most recent would be ‘How To Train Your Dragon’ which in my opinion has taken animated film standards to another level. It is in itself its own league. Toy Story 3 on the other hand had the same impact on me much like ‘Dragon’ did, though still not my most favorite Pixar film.

Toy Story 3 brought me back to a point in our lives when all we wanted to do was to play, as in we didn’t want to do anything, not even take a bath or eat meals, but play. For adults, eating is a reward and taking a bath is a necessity. But when you’re a kid, eating feels like a chore. Taking a bath feels like a much heavier chore. But that is how it is supposed to be I guess. That is the job of the kids. To play.

One specific thing that really excited me was seeing some of the toys I used to own myself being featured in the film like the little green toy soldiers and the dinosaurs. One of the toys in the film was actually a favorite toy of mine–the Triceratops though in the film it was a female toy named Trixie whereas mine was, well, a male toy from the Dino-Riders TV show {anyone remembers it or used to watch it?}. I also had Tyrranosaurus and Stegosaurus toys. I remember having that toy {my Dino-Rider Triceratops} with me all the time. I have loved that toy just like the TV show for so many years and took care of it like my own child. But of course just like most of us, I outgrew toys and eventually lost them all. How I wish I still had that specific toy and some of my GI Joe action figures too.

One point of the film also was that it allows us to reminisce our childhood and how we have once loved toys so much and for the children, seeing this film will make them realize that love for a toy is indeed real love and that they shouldn’t take their toys for granted. It is a bond much like a personal relationship. It’s like if you lose your favorite toy, you lose a huge part of yourself. And I suppose that if toys could actually feel and speak, they would tell us the same thing. The film teaches us even early on that we have to be responsible for our personal affairs no matter how shallow they may seem. After all, it is your own business.

The {currently} final installment of the Toy Story saga is about letting go. Andy has to go to college and he has forgotten all about his toys. You don’t really expect someone bringing his toys with him in college, do you? But Woody never lost hope and did not for one second give up on Andy. He was steadfast and never doubted that Andy still loves them and would never do them away. The film deeply struck a chord with me because it brings me back to that time when I had deeper relationship with my toys than my friends (we’ve all been there, right? haha!) and how I valued them so much even though most of them ended up broken. And I suppose it also goes for the rest of us who have had favorite toys when we were young and at some point had to let go of them.

The truth is old toys no matter how deep and rich our memories are with them get thrown away, unless you collect vintage toys. But Andy, instead of stashing them away in the attic or donating them, opted to give them to another kid named Bonnie. There was no assurance that the toys were going to be in a better care but it was definitely not worse either. Of course Andy was not all happy that he had to let them go. But he had to do it. He had to let go of his childhood and innocence. It is just part of moving forward.

Life was never about being at the same place forever. It is an endless journey. We humans need to go through evolution and different changes and that means we have to let go of the old ones to be able to enter new phases. The film is a painful reminder that ironically, the only immutable thing is change. We would all come to a point in our lives when we start losing stuff that we hold dearly in our hearts whether beloved toys, past loves, family and friends. Usually these are things that once lost, you can never have them back.

I guess the least you can do is cherish every moment while you still have them in your life. This will ultimately lessen the blow of a sad reality of having to let go of them eventually. All you’ll have are memories. You may have lost them physically but at least you’ll have them in your heart and mind forever.

2 comments on “Toy Story 3: A painful reminder that ironically, the only immutable thing is change.

  1. Tim
    August 2, 2010

    do u have a twitter

  2. Anonymous
    August 17, 2010

    wats up man hows it going

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2010 by in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 583 other followers

Archives

Categories

